Posted by: crunchynurse | October 22, 2013

Gluten Free Batter for frying

I found this recipe on a forum that is no longer in existence, so I thought I would type it here so I can share with anyone that might need some deep fried gluten free food.  Our family was probably gluten free 2 years before I found this, and I was missing fried seafood pretty badly by that point.  We use this about once a week for chicken tenders but it is also wonderful for fish (don’t buy filets that are very thin though) and fabulous for butterflied shrimp.  I almost always double this recipe.

2/3 cup GF flour blend  (I use a blend of 2 parts white rice flour, 1 part brown rice flour, and 1 part sorghum flour)

1/3 cup tapioca flour

1 tsp salt

2 tsp vinegar

1/2 tsp baking soda

2/3 cup water

Mix flours and salt together.  Mix vinegar and baking soda together in a separate bowl.  Add vinegar and baking soda mixture to flour mixture, then add water.  Stir well.  Let sit for a few minutes before using.   The amount of water can be adjusted to your preference for how thick you want the batter.  This is fairly thin but we like it.

Notes:  I usually mix a little white rice flour, tapioca flour, and salt together on a plate, and dip the chicken, fish, or shrimp in this before dipping in the batter.  It seems to help the batter stick to the food better.   You can fry onion rings or veggies with this batter also.  For chicken, I mix a small amount of honey into the batter.  Be warned though, it does make it brown up more, so don’t overdo the honey.

 

 


Responses

  1. I found this instruction on a forum that’s now not breathing, thus i assumed i might sort it here thus I will share with anyone that may would like some deep deep-fried protein free food.

  2. I haven’t tried this yet, but I am so thrilled to have found a batter recipe that is GF and that looks like a batter that can be used for fish as in fish and chips. I’m new to this GF living and am craving all those crispy deep-fried gluten carbs. Thanks so much for posting.


Leave a comment

Categories